Bramcroft Obedience Trophy

The Bramcroft Trophy is offered by the Flat-Coated Retriever Society of America, Inc. to honor the many significant contributions made by Mr. & Mrs. Homer Downing to the Flat-Coated Retriever, especially in the obedience ring. Mr. Downing bought his first Flat-Coated Retriever from England in 1953. The Downings, who had been active in dog obedience training and showing before acquiring "Doc," introduced this intelligent and capable breed to the obedience ring in the United States. Pewcroft Perfect UDT and Atherbram Stella UD began the tradition of Bramcroft Kennel. For twenty years, Mr. Downing promoted the Flat-Coated Retriever and presented it to the public as the compete dog. Both Mr. and Mrs. Downing maintained an interest in the breed until their deaths.

The Downings were present in 1972 at a FCRSA Sanctioned Match when the first Bramcroft Trophy was awarded to Vernon Vogel. Vernon won from the Novice B class with Barbara Conner's Ch. Wyndcroft Tamarack. The Bramcroft was thereafter awarded annually to the handler of the Highest Scoring Flat-Coat at the Chicago International Show until 1979 when it was moved to the National Specialty.

The Bramcroft Trophy was originally offered for permanent possession to a handler who could win it by winning HIT three times, not necessarily with the same dog. John Weiss retired the original Bramcroft in 1981 with Ch. Kernwood's Renegade Ambush UD. Colleen DeVore retired the Bramcroft II in 1985 with Ch. Twin Oak's Double Exposure CDX WC.

The 1986, the Bramcroft III Trophy was handcrafted by Bill Mader of Chardon, Ohio. This trophy is larger than its predecessors and has plates engraved with the names of the winners and their dogs. Due to AKC rules regarding perpetual trophies, the Bramcroft is no longer listed in the Premium List. It is non-retiring and remains in the possession of the Society, but a momento is given to the winner during the Awards Ceremony at the Annual Awards Banquet each year.

YearFlat-Coated RetrieverHandlerClassScore
2019Jazz'd Red Hot Intentions UDX PCDX OM2L. KruseOpen B198.5
2018Victory's Ketch'N A Storm CDX JH WCD. OrthOpen A198
2017Victory's Ketch'N A Storm JHD. OrthNB197.5
2016Ch OTCH Grousemoor First Sign of Spring UDX3 OM5 GN JHB. BehrmannOB196
2015GCh Gamekeeper's Iron Man CD RA JHD. GermanNB197.5
2014Grousemoor First Sign of Spring UD GNB. BehrmannOB198
2013Ch. Grousemoor Wingspan SHC. VanByssumNB197
2012Grousemoor Blu Icewine UDX RE VERB. FarrahOB199.5
2011Ch Ravenswood’s Amazing Grace JHF. PowrieNB196
2010Grousemoor Blu Icewine CD REB. FarrahOA198.5
2009OTCH Remington Twelve Gauge ShotgunC. McCluerOB198.5
2008Grousemoor Timeless RE JH WCA. YunckNB198
2007Ch. Grousemoor Gryffindor CDX RE JH WCXA. YunckUB196
2006Anahorish Kinsale UD SHA. CattersonOB198.5
2005Light-Foot's Mak'n Dark SpiritsK. MainNB198
2004Ch. OTCH Folly's Fairy Tales Come True UDX JH HOFL. KruseOB199.5
2003Ch. Ardrossan Inchmarnock SH WCX**M.J. GallagherNB197.5
2002OTCH Clisocha Big Tyme Hob-BP. SwartzenruberOB198.5
2001Folly's Jokes on YouL. Kruse & T. KernsNB198.5
2000Light-Foot's Magic Montana SkyK. MainNB199
1999Clisocha Big Tyme Hob-BP. SwartzendruberNB199
1998Ch. Windfall's Flatland Fortune SHM. & M. GallagherNB197
1997Ch. Artic Sun's Northern Exposure TD CDX NA WCK. HenkeOB198.5
1996Ch. Flatford Major Scout JHS. WaterfallNB196.5
1995Ch. Casablanca's Black Ruffles UDBehrmann, Goodwin, AylesOB197.5
1994Ch. High Spirit's Extra Proof CD WCC. DeVoreNB198
1993Ch. OTCH Hob-B's Knite Ryder MHP. SwartzendruberOB197
1992Ch. OTCH Grousemoor Some Like it Hot TD WCA. YunckOB199
1991Ch. Windfall's Sargent Rutledge UD JHD. & L. McAllisterOB197
1990Windfall's UFO CDMcClusky & YoungNB198.5
1989Hob-B's Knite Ryder UD JHP. SwartzendruberOB197.5
1988Ch. Omega's Final CountdownL. WilliamsonOB198
1987Hob-B's Knite Ryder CDP. SwartzendruberOB198
1986Tealsnest Tanner BrownK. WoodNB197.5
1985Ch. Twin Oak's Double Exposure CDX WCC. DeVoreOB199
1984Ch. Twin Oak's Double Exposure CDXC. DeVoreOB198
1983Twin Oak's Double ExposureC. DeVoreNB197
1982Ch. Berncroft Branta UDM. WickhorstU196
1981Ch. Kernwood's Renegade Ambush UDJ. WeissOB192
1980Ch. Kernwood's Renegade Ambush CDXJ. WeissU191
1979Mantayo Black Watch RecklessS. MyersOB191.5
1978Kernwood's Renegade AmbushJ. WeissOA195
1977KaRon Nickles and DimesB. LaBargNA196
1976Athercroft Study in BlacN. MaggiacomoNB172
1975CH. Claverdon GambleB. ReedNB196.5
1974Pierce's Black Velvet CDXW. PierceOA196.5
1973Ch. Mantayo of Black Watch ZakaraS. TerrouxNB189
1972Ch. Wyndcroft's TamarackV. VogelNB193.5